Interview of IFM faculty

Hilde Gustafsson 
MBA, BBA BI Norwegian School of Management, Oslo (NO). BA Psychology University of Eik, (NO)/University of York (UK). Director, Human Growth Consulting (CH), Former Managing Director Retail DDB Worldwide, Oslo (NO), Former Customer Service Manager/Deputy Sales Manager, IKEA (CH).

Why do you teach at IFM?

I teach at IFM because I appreciate the learning environment. The classes are not too big which means you get to know all your students with their individual needs. The campus is nice, very centrally

situated in Geneva.


Which topics do you teach at IFM?

I teach Organisational Behaviour, Business Writing and Public Relations.

What are the advantages of studying your topic?

As a manager you need to understand and develop your organization to be able to succeed. You need to communicate in a proper and efficient way, both internally and externally, and you need to know how to interact and deal with the public, your stakeholders.


How would you describe your teaching style and how does it influence your class?
I am passionate about teaching! I find great pleasure in transferring my knowledge and experience to the younger generations. My philosophy is that: “Anyone can read a theoretical book”, but it is only when the theory is connected to practical situations and real life, that real learning takes place. I therefore focus a lot on giving practical examples and providing real cases in my classes.




How would you describe your students? 
The learning environment is great, the classes are relatively small, and we have a very open dialogue with our students. I also appreciate the diversity; the students, come from all over the world, different backgrounds, different nationalities and different cultures. This makes it an exciting
environment and a great base for learning.

What advice would you give to the future generation of entrepreneurs and managers?
We live in a world that is changing more and more rapidly. My advice is to believe in yourself, but be humble! Do not be afraid of making mistakes, but learn from them. Ask for help and advice especially from people who have been in business for a long time. Be open minded, continue to develop, learn and last but not least, HAVE FUN !

free site templates

Interview

Hilde Gustafsson 
MBA, BBA BI, Norwegian School of Management, Oslo (NO). BA Psychologie Université de Eik, (NO)/University of York (UK). Directeur, Human Growth Consulting (CH), Anc. directrice Retail DDB Worldwide, Oslo (NO), Anc. Manager services client / Directrice adjointe des ventes, IKEA (CH).

Pourquoi enseignez-vous à l’IFM ?

J’enseigne à l’IFM parce que j’apprécie l’environnement académique. Les classes ne sont pas trop grandes, ce qui signifie que vous connaissez personnellement chaque étudiant et que vous pouvez répondre individuellement à leurs besoins. Le campus est agréable et est au centre de Genève.


Quelles matières enseignez-vous à l’IFM ?

En tant que Manager, vous devez comprendre et développer votre entreprise pour réussir. Vous devez communiquer de manière appropriée et efficace, tant à l’interne qu’à l’externe, et savoir comment interagir avec le public et vos parties prenantes.

Comment décririez-vous votre style d’enseignement et en quoi influence-t-il votre classe  ?
Je suis passionnée par l’enseignement! J’éprouve un grand plaisir à transmettre mes connaissances et mon expérience aux jeunes générations. Ma philosophie est la suivante: Tout le monde peut lire un livre théorique, mais ce n’est que lorsque la théorie est liée à des situations pratiques et à la vie réelle qu’un véritable apprentissage a lieu. Je me concentre beaucoup sur des exemples pratiques et des études de cas réelles dans mes cours.
Comment décririez-vous vos étudiants ?
Les classes sont relativement petites et nous entretenons un dialogue très ouvert avec nos étudiants. J’apprécie aussi la diversité, les étudiants viennent du monde entier, de cultures et d’horizons différents. Cela crée un environnement très riche et une base idéale pour apprendre.

Quels conseils donneriez-vous à la future génération d’entrepreneurs et de managers ?
Nous vivons dans un monde qui change de plus en plus rapidement. Mes conseils sont de croire en soi, tout en restant modeste ! N’ayez pas peur de commettre des erreurs, mais apprenez de celles-ci. Demandez de l’aide et des conseils aux personnes qui ont une longue expérience de l’entreprise. Soyez ouvert d’esprit, continuez à apprendre et aimez ce que vous faites !